Best Order to Play Assassin’s Creed

Best Order to Play Assassin’s Creed

The Assassin’s Creed franchise now has more than 13 titles, so it’s high time to keep a play order handy. Both release and chronological orders are quite fun for those binge-playing the Assassin’s Creed series.

The highest-grossing series from Ubisoft, the Assassin’s Creed franchise, is set to launch their new Viking adventure, AC: Valhalla.

I think it is befitting to have a full play over the entire series to be ready for this new title. Given that Ubisoft has already released 10+ plus games, it is quite hard to keep the order straight.

I combed through forums, page after page trying to find the best play order and have come up with two solid runs that will bring you up to date with the series.

1. Assassin’s Creed Release Order

Released over 11 years, the twelve titles of the AC franchise span over multiple periods and include many sci-fi historical settings. The release order is the way to go if you want to experience the series in the way the developers meant it to be played in:

  • Assassin’s Creed – 2007
  • Assassin’s Creed II – 2009
  • Assassin’s Creed: Brotherhood – 2010
  • Assassin’s Creed: Revelations – 2011
  • Assassin’s Creed III – 2012
  • Assassin’s Creed Liberation – 2012
  • Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag – 2013
  • Assassin’s Creed: Rogue – 2014
  • Assassin’s Creed: Unity – 2014
  • Assassin’s Creed: Syndicate – 2015
  • Assassin’s Creed: Origins 2017
  • Assassin’s Creed: Odyssey – 2018

The downside to this order is that the historical order is entirely lost; those looking to have a consistent history lesson should probably follow the chronological order instead.

Best Order to Play Assassin’s Creed
Assassin’s Creed | Source: Ubisoft

2. Assassin’s Creed Chronological Order

Players looking for a correct historical order should play the Assassin’s Creed franchise in the chronological order. Here I’ve ordered them according to the timeline that things happen.

Game TitleHistorical Period
Assassin’s Creed Odyssey431 – 404 BC
Assassin’s Creed Origins49-43 BC
Assassin’s Creed1191
Assassin’s Creed 21476-1499
Assassin’s Creed Brotherhood1499-1507
Assassin’s Creed Revelations1511-1512
Assassin’s Creed IV: Black Flag1715-1722
Assassin’s Creed Rogue1752-1776
Assassin’s Creed 31754-1783
Assassin’s Creed Unity1776-1800
Assassin’s Creed Syndicate1868

3. Where to Buy the Entire Assassin’s Creed Collection

Since Ubisoft develops all the games in the series, they are available under one roof.

Those of you who prefer steam over uplay can also get the titles at the steam store too.

Best Order to Play Assassin’s Creed
Assassin’s Creed | Source: Ubisoft

4. About Assassin’s Creed

Assassin’s Creed is the action-adventure series developed and published by Ubisoft that began with the release of Assassin’s Creed on November 13, 2007.

The initial release focused on Microsoft Windows, Playstation 3, and Xbox 360, but the titles since then have expanded their grasp onto current-gen as well as next-gen platforms and consoles.

Since then, Ubisoft has released 12 main titles in the series with the latest AC: Valhalla focussing on the nordic expansion into the European region.