Star Wars: Squadrons Progression System Revealed

Star Wars: Squadrons Progression System Revealed

EA has recently provided an update on the progression system of Star Wars: Squadrons, detailing the different ways in which players will be able to obtain in-game cosmetic and customization items.

Since its announcement, EA has been consistently claiming that Star Wars: Squadrons, the latest video game in the Star Wars franchise, will carry zero microtransactions.

Star Wars: Squadrons Progression system revealed
Star Wars: Squadrons | Source: Electronic Arts

But, players are sceptical of the company’s claim, for they have made similar claims in the past too.

Take Star Wars: Battlefront 2, for example. Even though I feel weird saying this, one of the “biggest selling point” of the game was the supposed zero microtransactions.

We all know how that went, don’t we?

However, this time around, EA has provided us with an update on Squadrons, detailing how the progression system will work. Judging by the looks of it, there truly aren’t any microtransactions in the game.

What’s in the update, you ask?

Star Wars: Squadrons Progression system revealed
Star Wars: Squadrons challenges | Source: Electronic Arts

So, essentially, there will two timed challenges in rotation in Star Wars: Squadrons.

On the one hand, there will be Daily Challenges, which will award glory points that can be used to purchase ships and cosmetics.

On the other hand, Operation challenges will offer unique cosmetics based on the game’s ongoing operations.

EA explained that “Operations are 8-week cycles that happen in Squadrons, and each Operation brings with it a set of unique cosmetic rewards that can only be earned by completing its Challenges.

Certain Challenges offer unique rewards, too, so once they’re gone, you won’t be able to get the cosmetic unless the Operation Challenges return one day.”

Furthermore, the ranking system was also explained in detail. There will be competitive fleet battles, which, when won, will let you rank up.

The ranks will range from Maverick, Hotshot, Hero, Valiant, Legend, and Galactic Ace. Not to mention, these rankings will reset at the end of each in-game Operation.

Star Wars: Squadrons Progression system revealed
Star Wars: Squadrons Ranks | Source: Electronic Arts

The in-game level cap has also been defined, at level 40, as EA explained that at that point, the players would have unlocked pretty much everything the game will offer.

“While almost all of the game’s experiences will be built in at launch, we’ll still be updating it over time. We’ve seen a few questions about this, but should anything need to be balanced or fixed, we’ll be actively taking your feedback to make this the best possible starfighter experience!”


So, it seems that EA is certainly following the right course of action and listening to what the players want.

For that reason alone, the excitement and anticipation for Star Wars: Squadrons has increased tenfold, and people can’t wait to get their hand on it when it hits the shelves on October 2nd!

Star Wars: Squadrons Progression system revealed
Star Wars: Squadrons | Source: Steam
Minimum SpecsRecommended Specs
OS Windows 10 Windows 10 64-bit
ProcessorAMD Ryzen 3 1300X Processor or Intel i5 6600k Ryzen 7 2700X or Intel i7-7700
GraphicsAMD Radeon HD 7850 or GeForce GTX 660 or EquivalentAMD Radeon RX 570 or Nvidia GeForce GTX 1070 or Equivalent
DirectXVersion 11.1Version 11.1

About Star Wars: Squadrons

Developed by Motive Studios, Star Wars: Squadrons is an Electronic Arts published space combat game. It offers both single-player and multiplayer gameplay.  The story of this game takes inspiration from the 1983 released movie, Return of the Jedi.

Star Wars: Squadrons requires players to assume the responsibility of  Galactic Empire and New Republic navy ships in a campaign mode full of noteworthy missions. There is a wide array of ships, engines, weapons, and armor shields housed by the game. Every ship will have its own strength and weakness. Thus, in the intergalactic world of Star Wars, players will have to give it their all to make the most of their ships’ strength and cover its weakness. As players gain more experience, they will have access to better items for their ships and pilots.

Star Wars: Squadrons will release on 2nd October this year.